College of Engineering - University of Canterbury, New Zealand

College of Engineering - University of Canterbury, New Zealand campus images

Originally founded as a School of Engineering in 1887, we have a long and distinguished history. The College of Engineering has grown to incorporate not only the former school of engineering, encompassing the original four engineering departments, but also the related departments of Computer Science and Software Engineering, Mathematics and Statistics, and the School of Forestry.

These departments have been integrated into the College due to the significant contribution they provide into the teaching of the engineering programmes as well as the interdisciplinary nature of research projects between these disciplines.

The College of Engineering is composed of seven departments.

  • Department of Chemical and Process Engineering
  • Department of Civil and Natural Resources Engineering
  • Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering
  • Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  • School of Forestry

Facilities and Resources

  • High-tech teaching and research laboratories
  • Modern lecture theatres and computer suites
  • Specialised technical EPS (Engineering and Physical Sciences) Library
  • UC hosts NZi3, the national ICT Innovation Institute
  • Access to UC’s Research and Innovation, bridging the gap between academia and industry
  • Access to BlueFern, a High Performance Computing (HPC) facility comprising two IBM supercomputers
  • Access to KAREN, a new super high speed internet-style network
  • Access to unique field stations around New Zealand for field-based studies